Saturday night

Steve and I attended a difficult meeting at church today. This is the church where I am the organist. Our denomination is dealing with gender issues. This week I will be going to a women’s retreat “up the McKenzie.” That would be the McKenzie River. It’s so beautiful up there! I’m going to play the guitar for our singing time. I plan to take my dulcimer too. One of the days I will be leading an activity exploring tune names. Tune name — another word for melody.  “Happy Birthday” — everyone knows that melody. A melody used in church a lot is “New Britain” which is the name of the tune to “Amazing Grace.” Some other tune names are “Brother James’ Air,” “Slane,” and “Duke Street.” I plan to have the group compose an original text to the tune of Amazing Grace. There is a collection of tunes that I’m especially fascinated with right now. These are the Southern Harmony tunes. Amazing Grace is one of them, also Wondrous Love. I’m going to dig into the history of these tunes… they go back to early America.

5 thoughts on “Saturday night

  1. I’m really looking forward to this retreat – I need a renewal right about now as do all of us. Thank you for coming to be with us – we gals always have a good time and come away inspired and renewed.

  2. Hi Carol! Thanks for checking out this blog…. I love to write, and it’s fun to have someone who reads it 🙂 I’m looking forward to our time together as well!

  3. Hi Mom- Your blog is cool! Reminds me of facebook, just not so crowded 🙂 Hope you are having a good Monday! I am exhausted 🙂 Weekend was great, very busy. Love you!

  4. Sounds like you had lots of good things planned to do at the retreat. I would have enjoyed the history lesson on those tunes since the bells have played some of them. We were so busy this morning that I did not get a chance for you to tell me anything about your three days or how many people were there.
    Hope no one got sick like last year. Seems lots of colds came home with the ladies.
    Wonderful duet this morning.
    Why do you like a blog page?

Leave a comment